PR With a Twist

Not just PR, but the twists and turns that make life interesting.

Is This Dieting? No, It’s Paleo . . .

I like baseball. I like movies. I love baseball movies. Whether The Natural with Robert Redford or Kevin Costner’s classics, Bull Durham (which also launched Tim Robbins’ career) and Field of Dreams, there’s just something iconic and all-American feel-good about them. The other thing about memorable movies is their great lines. Field of Dreams has one of the best:

That’s what I thought of this week as I got to the 20-day mark with 10 days left to go on the Whole30. I take a look at some of my meals over the last week, most of which come from Melissa Joulwan’s “Well Fed” book, available here. And, although I’ve heard that the Whole30 is just an amped-up version of Paleo eating, I sometimes find myself having a hard time believing I’m on a diet. And then I remember, I’M NOT!

This is a new way of life, not a short-term diet that I’ll yo-yo back to again and again. Or, worse, bounce to the next-best-thing diet six months from now. I know this because of the way it makes me feel and the fact that I know the food choices I’m making are healthier, but more importantly, can be maintained long-term. If I didn’t, do you think I’d be writing about it in this blog right now??? Well, hopefully not.

That’s why, with 10 days to go, I don’t look at it the end of the 30 days as a countdown. In fact, it’s barely even a milestone, since I’ve already planned to extend my Whole30 another 15 days and then maintain Paleo long-term. In the meantime, here are several pics of some of the delicious foods that have kept me very satisfied and maintained along the way (and again, the hus’ is loving this food too!). Enjoy.

Lisa

P.S. A word of caution — clicking on the photos to enlarge may make you hungry. :)

Chipotle Carnitas Bowl: In a pinch, I was able to grab a quick lunch out at Chipotle. I ordered the Carnitas Bowl with extra meat and no beans or rice, pico de gallo, lettuce and guacamole. Divine!

Whole Roasted Chicken and Gravy: From Nom Nom Paleo, this is a whole roasted chicken made in the crock pot, with its own gravy that’s unreal. I served it with steamed green beans and mashed sweet potatoes.

Shepherd’s Pie: This is the Italian Pie version with ground beef from “Well Fed”. I can’t even tell you how good it was. I sent some leftovers to work with hubby today and had some myself. Even better the second time around!

The Versatile Frittata: Got eggs and some leftovers? Make one of these! A little coconut oil melted in the pan, scramble the eggs and add a bit of S&P. Pour in the pan and add a little leftovers. This one has some roasted chicken and onion. One day I used ground beef and served it with salsa and avocado. Just cook on the stove until it’s mostly set then pop in the oven under a low broiler until it browns on top. Slide out of the pan and enjoy. (Remember to use a high-heat safe pan).

 

Flat Iron Steak: Pan sear the steak in a very hot pan that has melted coconut oil. For about an inch think steak, cook 4 minutes on one side, turn and 3 minutes on the second (use a meat thermometer to check doneness to your liking). Remove meat from pan and let rest. Lower heat to medium and deglaze pan with just a touch of organic beef broth (check label for additives) then add mushrooms and saute until done. Pour mushroom sauce over steak and serve with another steamed veggie (I served asparagus), a salad or both!

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Is This Dieting? No, It’s Paleo . . .

  1. Yum!! You go girl!

  2. Congratulations on 20 days of Whole30-ing! Looks like you’re doing GREAT! Right on!

    Thank you so much for your sweet words about Well Fed. I’m so glad to know it’s helping you enjoy your food and stay on track.

    Happy cooking & eating!

Leave a Reply

Kate Updates

Live. Happy. Healthy.

Molly Rachael Lockwood

My journey toward Godly womanhood

O'Connor MortuaryO'Connor Mortuary

Not just PR, but the twists and turns that make life interesting.

JenTravels

Social Travel Video Blogger

Kate Updates

My Journey to Health

Spin Sucks

Not just PR, but the twists and turns that make life interesting.

Dan's Daily Dish

Life, love, and everything in between

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,570 other followers

